"Kua tae ki te wā e huri ai o tātou whakaaro ki te Ipu Ahuwhenua, he taonga tuku iho nō o tātou tipuna ki a tātou. Nō reira koutou ngā kanohi ora o ratou mā, tēnā tātou katoa."

"As we think about the Ahuwhenua Trophy, we salute our forebears who established this kaupapa, and those who carry it on today. Therefore to all of us the living I greet you."

     Hon Pita Sharples, former Minister of Māori Affairs

The Ahuwhenua Trophy – BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award acknowledges and celebrates business excellence in New Zealand's important pastoral sector. This competition is held annually, alternating each year between dairy and sheep & beef. The upcoming 2016 competition is for Māori dairy farmers.

Ahuwhenua Trophy 2016 Key Dates

Entries Close: Fri 27 Nov 2015

Initial Judging commences: Mon 25 Jan 2016 – 2pm

Initial Judging finished: Wed 10 Feb 2016

Parliamentary Announcement of Finalists: Wed 17 Feb 2016 – 12 noon

Field Day and Final Judging #1: Tues 8 Mar 2016

Field Day and Final Judging #2: Fri 11 Mar 2016

Field Day and Final Judging #3: Wed 16 Mar 2016

Awards Dinner and announcement of the winner – Claudelands, Hamilton: Fri 20 May 2016

Talking about us

Wairoa Maori farmers rules - Hawke's Bay Today 1 June 2015

Ahuwhenua Trophy winner congratulated Primary Industries Minister Nathan Guy and Māori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell - 29 May 2015

Lofty visions for Far North's economic success - Dairy News 22 May 2015

From winner to judge shows how - Rural News 6 May 2015

Ahuwhenua field day draws the crowds - Rural News 5 May 2015

Ahuwhenua finalists - Rural News 17 April 2015

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 7 May 2015 talking to Maranga Station owner (Please forward to 5'25")

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 30 April 2015 talking to Parengarenga Incorporation Paua Station general manager (Please forward to 5'06")

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 22 April 2015 talking about Mangaroa Station (Please forward to 5'44")

Listen here to the Chair of the Ahuwhenua Trophy competition management committee, Kingi Smiler talking on Waatea News.

Latest photos

View all photos...

Latest video

Ahuwhenua Trophy 2015 Sheep and Beef - Finalists Compilation

View all videos...

Ahuwhenua publication selling fast

Copies of Ahuwhenua - Celebrating 80 Years of Māori Farming have almost sold out, but we do have a few more left if you haven't purchased your copy yet. Books are $40 each and you can order one today by emailing ahuwhenuacompetition@tetumupaeroa.co.nz. Find out more about the book here.

2016 Entries

Entries for the 2016 Ahuwhenua Māori Excellence in Farming Award for Dairy Businesses are now closed.
Entries for the 2016 Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Competition are still open. They close on 29 February.

Judges 2016 Dairy

Dean Nikora is the Finalist Chief Judge. Having a person with the knowledge and skills of Dean Nikora adds great value to the judging panel. Dean, who is affiliated to Ngāti Maniapoto me Ngāti Tama, has extensive experience in governance, representation and consultancy within the primary sector. He has worked with Fonterra Shareholders Council, AsureQuality and Ballance Agri-Nutrients on a wide range of issues.


Latest Newsletter

Seeking the cream of the crop - Ahuwhenua Young Māori Dairy Farmer competition entries open

Seeking the cream of the crop

Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer of the Year 2015, Hannah Wallace is urging all young Māori farmers to enter the 2016 competition.

Hannah is also the first woman to win the award. She says the opportunities that have come out of the competition were overwhelming. Hannah is now an ambassador representing young Māori farmers.

Read original article


Entries to the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer of the Year Award 2016 are now open.

The 2016 competition is for young Māori farmers working in the dairy sector. This award is about celebrating leadership qualities and inspiring young Māori into careers linked to growing the Māori asset base.

Enter the 2016 competition here

2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy winners

Barton and Nukuhia Hadfield of Mangaroa Station win the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for sheep and beef.


View Photos


Hannah Wallace is the winner of the 2015 Ahuwhenua Young Farmer of the Year Award.


View Photos