"Kua tae ki te wā e huri ai o tātou whakaaro ki te Ipu Ahuwhenua, he taonga tuku iho nō o tātou tipuna ki a tātou. Nō reira koutou ngā kanohi ora o ratou mā, tēnā tātou katoa."

"As we think about the Ahuwhenua Trophy, we salute our forebears who established this kaupapa, and those who carry it on today. Therefore to all of us the living I greet you."

     Hon Pita Sharples, former Minister of Māori Affairs

The Ahuwhenua Trophy – BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award acknowledges and celebrates business excellence in New Zealand's important pastoral sector. This competition is held annually, alternating each year between dairy and sheep & beef. The upcoming 2016 competition is for Māori dairy farmers.

Talking about us

Wairoa Maori farmers rules - Hawke's Bay Today 1 June 2015

Ahuwhenua Trophy winner congratulated Primary Industries Minister Nathan Guy and Māori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell - 29 May 2015

Lofty visions for Far North's economic success - Dairy News 22 May 2015

From winner to judge shows how - Rural News 6 May 2015

Ahuwhenua field day draws the crowds - Rural News 5 May 2015

Ahuwhenua finalists - Rural News 17 April 2015

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 7 May 2015 talking to Maranga Station owner (Please forward to 5'25")

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 30 April 2015 talking to Parengarenga Incorporation Paua Station general manager (Please forward to 5'06")

Listen here to Midday Rural News for 22 April 2015 talking about Mangaroa Station (Please forward to 5'44")

Listen here to the Chair of the Ahuwhenua Trophy competition management committee, Kingi Smiler talking on Waatea News.

Latest photos

View all photos...

Latest video

Ahuwhenua Trophy 2015 Sheep and Beef - Finalists Compilation

View all videos...

Ahuwhenua publication selling fast

Copies of Ahuwhenua - Celebrating 80 Years of Māori Farming have almost sold out, but we do have a few more left if you haven't purchased your copy yet. Books are $40 each and you can order one today by emailing ahuwhenuacompetition@tetumupaeroa.co.nz. Find out more about the book here.

Latest Newsletter

Seeking the cream of the crop - Ahuwhenua Young Māori Dairy Farmer competition entries open

Seeking the cream of the crop

Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer of the Year 2015, Hannah Wallace is urging all young Māori farmers to enter the 2016 competition.

Hannah is also the first woman to win the award. She says the opportunities that have come out of the competition were overwhelming. Hannah is now an ambassador representing young Māori farmers.

Read original article

2016 Ahuwhenua Trophy Launched

Entries for the 2016 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for dairy are now open and the competition was officially launched by the Minister for Māori Development, Hon Te Ururoa Flavell at the annual Federation of Māori Authorities conference in Wellington this weekend.


Entries are now open for the 2016 Ahuwhenua Maori Excellence in Farming Award for Dairy Businesses.

Kingi Smiler, Chairman of the Ahuwhenua Trophy Management Committee since 2007 and Chairman of Wairarapa Moana Incorporation, winner in 2005, is urging individuals, trusts and incorporations to enter the 2016 dairy competition. He says while it is great that one farm will eventually win the competition there are huge benefits in just entering and hopefully being a finalist.

"What previous entrants and finalists have told us is that the experience of just entering has been hugely beneficial to them. The fact that the judges who are specialist rural professionals are able to give feedback and ideas which were never looked at before can help make a difference. Just having some professional benchmarking done can spark new initiatives which can make a difference is a really positive outcome," he says.

Enter the 2016 dairy competition here

Entries to the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer of the Year Award 2016 are now open.

The 2016 competition is for young Māori farmers working in the dairy sector. This award is about celebrating leadership qualities and inspiring young Māori into careers linked to growing the Māori asset base.

Enter the 2016 competition here

2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy winners

Barton and Nukuhia Hadfield of Mangaroa Station win the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming Award for sheep and beef.


View Photos


Hannah Wallace is the winner of the 2015 Ahuwhenua Young Farmer of the Year Award.


View Photos