2022 Finalists Announced

The finalists in the 2022 Ahuwhenua Trophy competition for the top Māori sheep and beef farm have been announced. They are:

  • Onuku Māori Lands Trust located at Rerewhakaaitu, Rotorua
  • Wi Pere Trust. located at Te Karaka, Gisborne
  • Hereheretau Station located at Wairoa

The Ahuwhenua Trophy is the most prestigious award for excellence in Māori farming and was inaugurated 89 years ago by the great Māori Leader, Sir Apirana Ngata and the Governor General at the time, Lord Bledisloe. The objective was, and still is, to encourage Māori farmers to improve their land and their overall farming performance with an emphasis on sustainability. On a three-year rotational basis, the Trophy is competed for in the sheep and beef, horticulture and dairy sectors. This year the competition is for sheep and beef.

Nukuhia Hadfield, the Ahuwhenua Trophy Management Committee Chair says, “it is exciting to see the emergence of such high calibre finalists given the challenges that Māori farmers are facing.” She says the uncertainty created by the Covid-19 pandemic has added to the difficulties farmers have endured with severe adverse weather events, labour shortages in the sector and a whole raft of new regulations.

“This year’s finalists, along with the other entrants in this competition show the strength and determination of Māori farmers to successfully overcome adversity and get on with the daily task of farming in a truly sustainable way. Their contribution to the economic success of Aotearoa is not widely known or recognised. The aim of the Ahuwhenua Trophy competition is to follow the vision of Sir Apirana Ngata and Lord Bledisloe by changing this narrative and showcasing our success to the wider public,” she says.

Nukuhia Hadfield says despite the delays in getting this year’s competition underway because of the pandemic, the Ahuwhenua Trophy team and their supporters and sponsors are looking forward to seeing the farms of the finalists at their respective field days and also enjoying the awards dinner which is an occasion not to miss.

Field days will be held at the farms during August and September. These are open to the public and provide an opportunity for the finalists to showcase their properties. Media, along with members of the public are most welcome to attend.

Field days will be held:

  • Thursday 25 August 2022 – Onuku Māori Lands Trust
  • Thursday 1 September 2022 – Wi Pere Trust
  • Thursday 8 September 2022 – Hereheretau Station

The winner will be announced at the awards dinner on Friday 21 October 2022 at the Pettigrew Green Arena in Taradale, Hawke’s Bay.

Media can contact Peter Burke: 021 224 2183 / peterb@actrix.co.nz. Photographs are free for use in relation to the competition. Visit www.bit.ly/ahuwhenuatrophy or contact John Cowpland, Alphapix: 027 253 3464 / info@alphapix.co.nz.

Our thanks to our valued Ahuwhenua Trophy sponsors:

Te Puni Kōkiri, the Ministry for Primary Industries, Te Tumu Paeroa, BNZ, NZ Mãori Tourism, B+LNZ, AgResearch, Ballance Agri-Nutrients, PGG Wrightson, AFFCO, BDO, Allflex, Massey University, FMG, Kono Wines and FARMAX.

A big thanks also to sponsors of the Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer Award: Te Puni Kōkiri, Primary ITO, Te Tumu Paeroa, B+LNZ and Allflex.

Previous Post Next Post